Peeling the orange's Blog

smart girl needs to write good stuff!

Choose vs. Decide

with 6 comments

Choose: To select from a number of possible alternatives; decide on and pick out. To select (a person, thing, course of action, etc.) from a number of alternatives. To pick out, select, or choose from a number of alternatives.

Decide: To settle conclusively all contention or uncertainty about. To make up one’s mind about. To influence or determine the outcome of. To reach, make, or come to a decision about something. To bring to an end; settle conclusively.

6 Responses

Subscribe to comments with RSS.

  1. This blog post is very thought-provoking. It’s like art. I’ve been thinking about it for awhile, and it relates to my current problems in many ways. I can’t decide, though, if I’m choosing to look at it that way, or if I’ve just decided not to choose to look at it any other way.

    Very interesting.

    Vodka and Ground Beef

    June 11, 2010 at 5:04 pm

    • Yes. Very provoking. I have a long list of this. Like: arrogance vs. true confidence, pro-active vs. multitasking, performance vs. expectation, hunger vs. appetite, and so on. You are right, provoking.🙂 Great Love to you!

      peelingtheorange

      June 11, 2010 at 6:13 pm

  2. Thanks. I was little confused about the difference between them.

    One more question, which one is correct:

    this thing is different than that..
    this thing is different from that..

    This always confuses me. If you know which of them is correct, please let me know.

    Your blog has so many interesting posts, really. But you know my English is really bad, though I’m working hard to improve my English. So, I failed to understand the meaning of most posts in your blog.

    Aminul Islam Sajib

    June 13, 2010 at 10:31 pm

    • Hi Aminul! Thanks for counting on me, but sadly I don’t know that much of english either. I know, it is funny, how can I dare to have a blog without even knowing too much. The answer is that beyond the borders of english is a burden to learn and share about love. In time I would learn better, In time you would! My guess is that number 1 is correct but, thank God there is couple of web pages you can find that better. Blessings for you! We would learn, we would!!
      ~Great Love to you,
      Mirian Aracely. “)

      peelingtheorange

      June 13, 2010 at 11:33 pm

      • Thanks. Hopefully you’ll be with me in our same-way journey.😀

        You can add me on your Gtalk if you’re used to in chatting. You have got my Email address, right?

        Aminul Islam Sajib

        June 14, 2010 at 8:34 am

      • Yes Aminul, and thank you! The journey of learning is an awesome one! Welcome aboard! “)
        ~Great Love to you!
        Mirian Aracely “)

        peelingtheorange

        June 14, 2010 at 2:12 pm


Leave a Reply

