Peeling the orange's Blog

smart girl needs to write good stuff!

How Lies keep us Captive.

with 2 comments

In a Sunday, like three or so months ago, I carefully planed to spend time with My Dad. All I was trying to carry out was to feed the relationship even more. It was days without sharing a meal with him, since he works until late hours and six and a half days a week. So, I manage to prepare the lunch for both of us. As I was serving the yummy meal I came to realize that all I was doing was to do all the talking in my head. And not nice talking. All Dad was doing, was staying calm. But was a boring moment. So we were rescue once more.

Me and my Dad have a wonderful relationship, he is funny and I am funny as well. He likes to eat and I like to eat a lot. He likes to watch movies, and I love to spend time watching movies that inspired me also. My Dad likes to walk a lot, eat cookies, buy new stuff for the house, make jokes, and so do I. We both do very well alone.

This particular day though I started to pay attention to my head, some rare but persistence, odd thoughts. In the blink of an eye the food got cold, and I wonder where is that glimpse again? Just took about 5 minutes. Thank God! To me to realize it and rescue the boat. From judgment to love. I was rescue.

In those moments of pursuing the wrong thing, I learned that while truth make us free, the only thing lies do is keep us captive. Captive from rejoicing every one of the moments with our loves ones, our friends, and to learn new things, to paid attention with an honest heart to what is happening to them, to honor every relationship. I learned my lesson.

From now on I would do my best effort on listening, not just to focus on “expending time together” but that the outcome of that time would be fruitful. Quality Time with my Dad is as important as any other relationship. To honor our parents is one of the things that takes the heart of God and enlighten the way thru our hearts. All the way.

Softly I am beginning to embrace every relationship with honor, to every one of them, and with the special ingredient of my own way of loving them. My Dad? He likes to laugh, laugh, and laugh. Yes, it’s less difficult then. I will make it happen regardless of what my head is trying to overshadow. And that can be done just thru Love. Good days, bad days, Love does not have boundaries. All I have to do is to listen to it and follow His advice. He is The Way.

Judgment is for decisions. Never for people.
Love is The Way.

2 Responses

Subscribe to comments with RSS.

  1. Just popped over to say hi cos you left such a nice message on my latest post! This post reminds me of The Shack, I’ve just finished reading it and if you haven’t read it yet, I’d recommend it!🙂 Take care and thanks for dropping by!

    thecuriousbaker

    June 11, 2010 at 7:57 pm

    • I am in The Shak website right now. Thanks for the message! Keep the good recipes. Great Food go to a Great Great Great LIFE. Keep it coming. Have fun!
      ~Great Love,
      Mirian “)

      peelingtheorange

      June 11, 2010 at 8:07 pm


Leave a Reply

