Peeling the orange's Blog

smart girl needs to write good stuff!

The Funny Things about the English Language…

with 8 comments

Lets face it
English is an obtuse language.
There is no egg in the eggplant
No ham in the hamburger
And neither pine nor apple in the pineapple.
English muffins were not invented in England
French fries were not invented in France.

We sometimes take English for granted
But if we examine its paradoxes we find that
Quicksand takes you down slowly
Boxing rings are square
And a guinea pig is neither from Guinea nor is it a pig.

If writers write, how come fingers don’t fing.
If the plural of tooth is teeth
Shouldn’t the plural of phone booth be phone beeth
If the teacher taught,
Why didn’t the preacher praught.

If a vegetarian eats vegetables
What on earth does a humanitarian eat!?
Why do people recite at a play
Yet play at a recital?
Park on driveways and
Drive on parkways
How can the weather be as hot as hell on one day
And as cold as hell on another

You have to marvel at the unique lunacy
Of a language where a house can burn up as
It burns down
And in which you fill in a form
By filling it out
And a bell is only heard once it goes!

English was invented by people, not computers
And it reflects the creativity of the human race
(Which of course isn’t a race at all)

That is why When the stars are out they are visible
But when the lights are out they are invisible
And why it is that when I wind up my watch
It starts
But when I wind up this poem
It ends.

Cyber Salt
caption by Sitepoint.

8 Responses

Subscribe to comments with RSS.

  1. As a language freak, I can’t tell you how much I love this post!!
    Right now I’m reading a little tiny book on Jamaican patois, and the author is making comparisons and speaking about the strangness that is the english language!! Plus Im also reading a book called “Woe Is Me” which is a grammar book that is so much fun!
    Thanks for the post!

    Anna Renee

    June 13, 2010 at 8:02 pm

    • Have you see? Yes, it is crazy! I love what you posted about your brother, love it. And yes, the english language it’s a mess some times. Although I do not speak it well, I have learn about the Gospel thru english Pastor, it’s that awesome or what. Keep the good reading Anna! Glad you visit the site! Blessings to you and your family there!
      ~Great Love to you,
      Mirian Aracely “)

      peelingtheorange

      June 13, 2010 at 8:19 pm

  2. I’ve spent a few moments reviewing your post & “you had me at hello” … Really great blog! Looking forward to going through your previous post & future post to come.

    This is hilarious but so very true.

    Mr.TramueL

    June 14, 2010 at 8:44 am

    • Anytime! I love the art in your profile, the icon with your picture, you dancing sort of. I do not how works, but it’s way toooo cool! Fantastic Creativity! Keep it coming as well. See ya around Tremuel “) Have a wonderful week.
      ~Great Love to you,
      Mirian Aracely.

      peelingtheorange

      June 14, 2010 at 2:18 pm

  3. haha, this is awesome. i love the picture btw!

    mct88

    June 15, 2010 at 5:11 pm

  4. Mirian,

    I love your blog and I just love this peek at the English language!

    you are very refreshing!

    hope_rising

    June 17, 2010 at 12:59 pm

    • I’m thinking: If isn’t fun, don’t do it! So, that explains. bahahaha.
      Have an awesome day!
      Mirian. “)

      peelingtheorange

      June 17, 2010 at 1:46 pm

  5. I felt like I’m in and as I’m in a wave just took away my self into a “remolino” of words. bahahahaha This in and out thing is real and to shake it….I would just come inside the house to be out of brainstorms. Nice post you have there! Lots of blessings to you. The header picture on your site is awesome. My neph also find this teasty flavor on remot controls….that’s weird becoz he don’t like tv at all. I know. May be he wants a wireless neation. Who knows! Regards to you!
    ~Great Love,
    Mirian. “)

    peelingtheorange

    June 18, 2010 at 8:00 pm


Leave a Reply

